Grantmaking Guidelines

The Patricia D. & William B. Smullin Foundation seeks to help educate the citizens of Northern California and Southern Oregon through gifts to higher education and to contribute to their health through gifts to service providers of health related needs.

In its grantmaking the Foundation gives priority to non-profits in the counties of Humboldt, Del Norte, Shasta, Trinity, Siskiyou, Tehama, Lassen, Butte, Modoc; Jackson, Josephine, Klamath, Lake, Coos, Curry, Douglas, Lane, Deschutes, Crook, and Wallowa.

PLEASE NOTE: Since 2004, grant making focus has been on and will continue to be on Humboldt County and Del Norte County & Adjacent Tribal Lands. The Foundation does not accept any unsolicited requests or proposals.

The Patricia D. and William B. Smullin Foundation awards grants throughout the year, many of them in partnership with other funders. The Foundation also supports Smullin Scholarship Funds at Humboldt State University, Willamette University, Oregon Institute of Technology, Rogue Community College, Southern Oregon University, and Southwestern Oregon Community College.

The majority of the Foundationís funding has been to universities and colleges where Smullin Scholarship Funds exist.